Some people have advocated for a decrease in the time that people spend watching television. Why do you think they hold this opinion? What can be done to reduce the time that people, especially children, spend in front of television screens?

In recent times, most children spend more of their time in front of the screen. This habit can lead to negative effects on the life pattern of the child and also on the brain which is why some individuals have suggested a reduction in the time that people especially kids, spend in front of the television. The bright light which is emitted from the screen causes damage to the eyes, this is because of the time spent watching the program. Some parents allow their children to watch television the whole day to keep them in a place, to enable them to focus on other activities in the home without being disturbed. However, these light rays which are high then begin to destroy the cells in the eyes, leading to a high record of sight defects later in the life of that individual. Many young children become lazy as a result of constant watching of television. When watching these programs, all the time and concentration is devoted to understanding their content. This causes every other thing which needed to be done to wait until the end of the session. When the child grows up with such a pattern of life, the kid would prefer to do things that will be easier for them such as ordering food online or they resort to eating junk which causes more harm than good. Not because they cannot prepare the dish but because they have developed that attitude of laziness which could not be dealt with at later age. A lot of things can be done to decrease the time people spend especially children, watching television. First, early programming of the child can go a long way in the formation of the child. If the child, while growing up is always being timed on watching programs, he or she will know while growing up know that there is time for everything. Secondly, the child while growing should be provided with storybooks and toys appropriate for each age bracket which will help in developing the child's interest. While this is done, the interest diverts from always watching television shows to either reading or playing games which helps in cognitive development. In summary, early programming of the child while growing up, plays an important role in declining the level of time spent on screen watching television which will later reduce the number of brain and sight damage being caused in the future.