People aim to achieve a balance between their work and lives. But few people achieve it. What are the causes of problems? How to overcome it?

An incredible amount of energy has been spent chasing the ideal work-lifelife balance, but most people fail to achieve it. This essay intends to discuss the possible reasons for this, and also suggest ways to overpower this problem. The first reason for the inability to achieve a work-lifelife balance is the technology of today. We are more reachable than ever in the past. Work has gone global, and competition has gone stiffer. The cell phone has thinned the line between personal and professional lives. The second blame goes to the materialistic society of today. People want to avail all the luxuries of life, and in that quest, they become workaholics and then that attitude becomes a way of life, because the desires go on increasing and increasing. Furthermore, people cannot achieve a work - life balance because the definition of a work - lite balance is different for different people. People weave together their personal life with their professional life to get the best of life. What works for one person may not work for another. Making choices is what the balance between work and life is all about. There maybe the time when the choice between moving ahead with your career takes a back seat to your health or happiness at home. The priorities you identify as important keep changing and that is why achieving a perfect work-lifelife balance is difficult. The solutions are not simple. We must try to introspect and see what makes us happy and then set priorities in life when we come home from work, we must learn to switch the office button off. Another key is adopting some flexibility. lt never works if we are too rigid with the goals, we set for ourselves. Last but not least, there is a beautiful term, “ downshifting, which means we should learn when enough and then we all begin to enjoy life in its true form To sum up, everyone perceives work - life balance in a different light, and so achieving a perfect work-lifelife work-life-life balance is difficult. However, we must all realise that contentment is the key to a perfect work - life balance.