The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate local produced food. What extend does the advantage outweigh disadvantage?

Some believe that importing food from other countries' farms would be not good for our environment and economy. These people prefer to export food from their local farms. I strongly agree that consuming food locally is more beneficial than importing it.  One of the drawbacks of obtaining food from outside the country is the financial costs. Travelling for food can lead the government to allocate money for this matter, which will not serve the nation's economy. For example, the country's government needs to spend money on transportation for travelling to get food, and they will spend on purchasing them. However, this issue can be solved if the other nations provide their cooperation for transporting costs. On the other hand, one notable benefit of producing food locally is that it will boost the economy.To illustrate this point, food production may enhance the nation's revenue by importing produced food to other nations. For instance, if the local farms in the country produced food such as wheat or dairy products, the other nations may ultimately buy them, and as a,result the country's economy is increased. Moreover, another advantage of obtaining local food is to reduce fossil fuel emissions which will help the environment. This is because producing local food means establishing more farms, and therefore fewer industries. Factories emissions are the main reason behind the environmental destruction. Thus, the government should encourage to establish farms in order to not be an industrial country. In conclusion, I am in full agreement that producing local farms outweighs importing food. This is due to improving the economy and the reduction of fossil fuel emissions while importing food will not accommodate our economy's budget.