The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate local produced food. What extend does the advantage outweigh disadvantage?

It is certainly true that our environment and economy would be better if native people ate local production. While accepting that, I believe that eating local food is more likely to have negative outcomes. There are several benefits leading to this trend. A common advantage is that some lands in some regions are unable to plant or produce anything. For example, fruits such as lychee cannot be grown in the South of Vietnam and durian or papaya is a tropical fruit that cannot be grown in the North. Furthermore, if individuals only depend on regionally produced food, they would lack the taste of other unique productions. As a result, this can boost regional economic growth as well as the impact on the environment. However, in spite of these positive effects, I am of the opinion that these benefits can be outweighed by the drawbacks. One obvious disadvantage is that the nation's economy would not progress if the governments are unable to receive taxes or fees from the farmers. Another negative effect is that lack of foreign trade could bring many drawbacks to international relationships between country and country. Therefore, transporting food is the most option to cater to the need of humans. Moreover, in the growing major, local food does not always reach the basic necessity for citizens daily. In conclusion, eating locally produced food brings both benefits and drawbacks. However, generating enough food to feed everyone is the main key due to it can harm the environment. It seems to me that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.