Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning a second language has become common practice in almost all parts of the world. However, there is still no consensus as to the exact time schoolchildren should start learning a new language: at primary or secondary school? Some believe students must initially be exposed to a foreign language in primary school and I completely agree, asserting that the drawbacks of delaying far outweigh the benefits. High school students may be more willing to study a new language as they may be more aware of the merits of being bilingual. However, they are too snowed under with their other studies to handle something else. Subjects such as advanced mathematics and chemistry are rather daunting in and of themselves. If a foreign language is introduced into an already hectic schedule, acquisition would not occur to an optimum level, thus wasting part of the efforts made by both the education authorities and students. In addition, high school students are already adolescents and that is far past the "critical age" for optimum language acquisition. Elementary students, on the other hand, are not yet filled with facts and figures from years of studying different subjects. In terms of mental capacity, these youngsters absorb new information with ease. Some may argue that is not justifiable to expose them to a second language when they are not fully capable of using their own native tongue without flaws; however, this is exactly why they should start at that age. As people become older and their grasp on language becomes firmer, it becomes increasingly more difficult for them not to allow their own understanding of syntax and lexis to interfere with their take on another language. In summary, although older children can be more motivated and cognitively competent to learn the ‘usage’ of a language, younger children are at an advantage to acquire natural ‘use’ of a language, which is the principal focus of second language acquisition.