Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals.Others say that there are more important environmental problems.Dicuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Climate change and issues affecting the environment has been a topic for debate. While a group of people think that the major difficulty faced by our environment is that of losing specific variants of plants and animals, another school of thought are of the opinion that there are more outstanding things troubling the environment. The role of animals and plants in sustaining balance in the ecosystem is a crucial one, hence, the absence of certain types of these may negatively impact the balance in the environment. Plants absorb the carbon dioxide excreted by animals while releasing oxygen into the air to be taken in by animals. This ensures that no component is more abundant than required. In the event that some species of these are absent, the outcome maybe detrimental. An example can be seen in the increasing deforestation in the Amazon which has caused increased levels of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere. On the other hand, there are more crucial environmental problems such as increase in fossil fuel burning. This is because it has far more reaching effects than the loss of plant and animal species. Burning of fossil fuels intensifies greenhouse effects, contaminates the air around us, predispose areas to wild fires and so on. For instance, due to the increased technological activity and urbanisation in Europe, a surge of heatwave crises have been documented in recent times. To conclude, in as much as plants and animals are essential in keeping our environment safe, other factors such as burning of fossil fuels should be tackled as this affects more aspects of the environment.