In the last decade, there has been a great increase in international travel. What do you think are the reasons for this and do you think it is a good thing?

With the proliferation of technology, the world has become a global village. For the past 10 years, the trend of traveling to other nations for a leisurely vacation or a business expansion is increasing drastically. In my opinion, there are two major reasons for the positive growth of international travel - affordability and globalization. I feel that this is a positive development as it allows a country to generate revenue. To begin with, foreign trips are no longer expensive. This is simply because industries involved in tourism deal with a high amount of competition. In order to attract new customers, they offer luxurious experiences at a modest price. As the cost of travelling is getting inexpensive, people prefer to enjoy their vacation in another country. Tourist destinations like Bali in Indonesia, or Ha Long Bay in Vietnam, for instance, cost less than five hundred dollars per person for a three-day trip. Furthermore, globalization is another reason resulting in the expansion of overseas travel. People are more aware of different destinations, cultures and leisure activities around the world. The internet is a prominent tool which people can use to find tons of information about places that they want to visit. Clearly, affordable trips and rapid information exchange between nations have resulted in the inevitable development of the international tourism industry. In my opinion, the increase in aviation travel works in favour of a nation's economy. Tourism helps to grow new businesses which generate new jobs for people. If more tourists visit a country, there will be better employment opportunities for those who work in industries like food, transportation and hospitality. The Maldives and Thailand are two countries whose GDP mostly depends on tourism. Overall, focusing on developing international travel results in a favourable outcome. In conclusion, this essay discussed how globalization and cheap prices on international trips are encouraging people to visit other countries to spend their leisure time in, as well as presented my view on whether it is logical to allow this industry to grow.