In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages? With the thriving of technology, the population is growing older than it used to be. Some argue that it creates multiple problems for the local governments, while others think it is more beneficial to the society to have more elders around. While having more aged people is a big advantage for our world, there are some potential issues that are needed to be worried about. With aging population, the communities may be experiencing some hinder difficult situations. The requirement of more long-term, is one of the biggest problems. As people grow older, our body systems may not work as well as they use to be, some may need others to take them to the washroom, whilst some perhaps require caregivers to do everything for them because of their limited movement. For example, my great-grandmother who passed away a few years ago, she needed to hire a full-time caregiver since she cannot move at all. There are many pros of having elderly people in our world, and one of the largest benefits is that we can learn many things from their long lives. Living for such a long time allows them to have a lot of wisdom and knowledge of life that they can share with us young people. For example, the elders who had lived the life in WWII can share their experiences and teach us how to cope with the harsh time and what to do if we have to go through the same situation. In conclusion, I would argue that a world with more elders is a better place and the benefits to having elders outweitghs outweigh the downside.