There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to neck to neck competition among the colleges and expectations from family and society, children are under the immense burden to clear their courses. Nowadays, we find more stress on children to pass academically. Due to this, some people think that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be eliminated from the course curriculum. According to my perspective, I totally contradict the ideology that non-academics shall be not a part of the education system. I will be illustrating my detailed opinion in this essay. Over-pressure at school is not recommended. Youngsters should avoid being overloaded, as this is having numerous effects on an individual's health. Apart from the health issues, if the adequate amount of strain is not maintained then the candidates can end up with a lot of failures. For example, during my childhood, I remember an incident with my fellow mate who took too much load of exams and went into a brain haemorrhage disease. Hence, being overloaded at school is not advised. Now when it comes to academic vs non-academic subjects during the span of the course, both are important for all students as both categories of terminals give exposure to different areas of knowledge. Non-academics such as sports, physical teaching, cookery etc... will add up as extra-curricular activities in kids initially and they can become the main profession according to the calibre later on in life. As per my experience, I have many peers who are now professional sports players and playing for the nation. To conclude, despite pressure on the young generation, non-academic studies play an important role in pupil life and hence, it is not recommended to remove these subjects from the syllabus. My vision opposes the thought stated in the above statement. In fact, children have to be taught and trained to overcome pressure in order to carry a balanced life.