In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. To what extent do you agree or diasgree?

In recent years, traffic problems have been discussed a lot in society, especially in the metropolises, which experienced serious gridlock. Some individuals claim that government should tax heavily on the owners of private vehicles and construct the transport infrastructure, while others think that those are not necessary. To some extent, I agree with the statement, believing that it could bring lots of benefits to the world. Firstly, the main upsides of taxing heavily and building public transport system, is that this could benefit the environment on the earth. As long as the number of cars has reduced, the emission of carbon dioxide and pollution will decline and the level of global warming will not get deterioration. Subsequently, through this kind of "price discrimination" policy, the government can tax more money from the rich people, and indirectly improve equality in the country. Moreover, the completed transportation system could raise the citizens' living quality, making their life extremely convenient. By contrast, it might create some conflicting interests by enforcing the tax law. Some particular jobs, like delivery people or taxi drivers, would suffer heavy taxes. Furthermore, it brings lots of inconveniences for someone whose living place is far from the station of the public transportation, extending their commuting time. Regarding the industry of cars and engineering, this policy would directly affect their business. In conclusion, although there are still some caveats in this policy, it is still obvious that the advantages are surpassing the disadvantages. I suggest that government can encourage residents to take public transportation by giving some subsidized fares, instead of taxing car drivers.