Nowadays, more people are becoming overweight. Some people think that the solution is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern age, an increasing number of people are gaining weight excessively. It has been suggested that the answer to this problem is to raise the cost of fattening foods. This writer disagrees with this idea and will outline the main reasons why in the following essay. First of all, there are a number of other factors that can lead to people becoming overweight, a primary reason being a lack of physical activity. In present times, many people have very busy lives and may not find time to participate in sports or exercise. Take the example of the working parent who works six days a week and also needs to look after the family and home in addition to other responsibilities. It can be very difficult to schedule physical activity into such a demanding lifestyle. Even for those who enjoy doing sports and exercise, sometimes in life there are other matters which need to take priority. Another issue is the increasing influence of modern technology. In today’s society, everybody uses some form of electronic gadget on a daily basis, in the workplace, at school or university, or at home for entertainment. These devices often require the user to be in a stationary position and therefore encourage a sedentary lifestyle. It is a well known fact that people today lead more inactive lives than in the past. People ’s reliance on, and in some cases addiction to, technological devices, means the population is becoming increasingly inactive, another contributing factor towards weight gain. To conclude, apart from diet there are several other reasons why people can become overweight. It has been demonstrated in this essay that a lack of physical activity plus a sedentary lifestyle caused by modern technology are two of the primary causes.