Many students choose to dtudy at colleges and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do benefits of this outweigh the drawbackss?

Going to college far away from students' homes can make them grow up. Although it's difficult to seek out support when you face an emergency, I believe the benefits outweigh the drawbacks because you will get a chance to broaden your perspective. People react differently to a new environment. Some love the change in secnery and routine, while others feel lost, confused, and generally unconfortable. While we certainly don't guarantee or hope that students will find themselves in an emergency situation while they are at school, it does happen. Especially if you or a family member has a medical condition, being far away from home can cause uneasiness or anxiety. For example, I was sick when I studied at Thammasat University, but my home in Uttraradit, Thailand, is that far away from each other, about 7 hours long. So I had to go to the hospital by myself for the first time. For me That time didn't make me feel anxious; in contrast, I thought that was a new opportunity to learn to handle things in my life by myself. Therefore, I believe if we are ready to learn new things in life, the emergency is not a dramatic obstacle. The further you are from home, the more cultural and environmental differences you will see on a daily basis. Though college experiences tend to be similar across the United States, regional cultures can provide plenty of unique differences. You will likely meet people who come from various backgrounds and learn how to interact with those who differ from you. For instance, my sister grew up in Georgia, and the conservative, traditional aspect of southern society doesn't really do it for her. When she went to college in California, it exposed her to a new set of cultural norms. She met people whose formative years were completely different from hers. That's why I think studying far away from home has a number of unique benefits. In conclusion, though unexpected crises can happen without intention if students have to study far away from home, they can be exposed to new cultures and lifestyles that they have never known before. For these reasons, the positives far outnumber the negatives.