Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Social and practical issues are believed to be the demerits of living abroad where you speak a foreign language. While I agree with this statement, I also assume that this living-aboard matter brings merits along with its demerits, which both will be analyzed in this essay. On the one hand, language and culture shock are supposed to be two social and practical problems respectively. To be more elaborate, many people find it challenging to understand the accent and slang of the native in a foreign country when it comes to language. As a result, they might encounter communication issues such as when buying groceries or commuting on public transportation, which forms an isolated feeling in their initial period of living there. In addition to that, culture shock is a common trouble needed to mention that almost immigrants get into when first-time travelling to an exotic nation. Cultureculture shock can come in many different circumstances. For instance, some people might be shocked by the closure of groceries at the weekends or different driving systems in some European countries. Therefore, they probably feel homesick or even depressed temporarily. However, these initial challenges can motivate them to get through and explore more new aspects of foreign countries which they have not known yet. In particular, the social challenge forces them to interact more with the local while the practical one triggers them to explore or learn something new about the culture of the nation. In the first regard, when people take advantage of living in a foreign- language environment and interact more with the locals instead of worrying about the language barrier, they improve tremendously their language ability in coincidence with handling their communicating concerns. In terms of culture, when people perceive culture shock more positively, they learn new things about foreign cultures and avoid such above-mentioned situations the next time. By doing so, they can broaden their horizon practically, even avoiding mental health issues. In conclusion, social and practical issues relating to language barrier and culture shock might be the initial problematic situations for immigrants. Nevertheless, if they perceive and accept them more positively by interacting more with the native and consciously learning new aspects of culture, these challenges will be just temporary issues and not affect their mental health.