You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as the South Pole. What are advantages and disadvantages of this development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Access to isolated natural habitats like the South Pole have now become possible for tourists and scientists because of the advancements made in the transportation industry. Some people may say that this has enabled the researchers to discover more natural resources whereas some may argue that due to increased human activity, it has lead to the pollution of the natural habitats. Places like the South pole have not been researched much because of the travel and environmental limitations, however with advanced technologies in place today we might be at the verge of making breakthrough discoveries for natural resources that can be highly beneficial to the survival of the human race. For exmaple, it was recently discovered that the south pole consist of several natural resources lying deep within the glaciers which need further study. The infrastructure that is being developed to accomodate visitors in such locations like the construction of hotels, roads, hospitals, ports and airports has led to the destruction of the the natural habitats for the arctic animals. Over the years, with increased human activity in the south pole, increase in melting of glaciers and migration of the arctic animals to other regions has been observed, as human existance has made it difficult for them to survive. This is one of the biggest disadvantages of such development. To sum up, there is a huge potential of scientific discoveries that can prove to be highly beneficial to the human race, but on the contrary, allowing tourism in these untouched locations can have significant effects on the natural ecosystem of the south pole.