The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years the trend of online shopping has increased its popularity exponentially. Many started to believe that this will lead to the disappearance of all stores in towns and cities. While this trend is valid and online shopping has many advantages, I wouldn’t necessarily agree with the opinion presented for several reasons. This essay will disclose the heftiest of them. First off, I am a firm believer that it is mandatory to see and touch items before their purchase. Speaking of clothes shopping, the touch of materials, the exact colour shade and its fit on a person can all strongly motivate clients towards the acquisition of the item. Technology shopping is not too different as it is obligatory, in my opinion, to see, physically check, and test the item before purchasing. Furthermore, home decor and furniture also come under this category where a human touch is a deciding factor. Secondly, the virtual shopping experience, for some people, cannot provide the same satisfaction and joy that can be brought through classic shopping. Some people use their visits to shopping malls and stores as an opportunity to spend quality time with family and friends. That’s why Amazon, which is the biggest e-commerce website, has opened several hundred stores in North America in order to reach those customers that would wish to shop traditionally. In conclusion, considering shopping as a complete experience for shoppers, I believe that the thought of the collapse of traditional buying and selling will eventually diminish, despite all the flexibility and ease the online markets bring.