All high school students should be encouraged to take part in community service programmes. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is undeniable that community services are beneficial for everyone, including teenagers. Not only it contributes to the greater good but also can shape their characters for the future. This essay will describe the benefits of these activities and why I agree that high schoolers should participate in them. On the one hand, not only it brings out personal developments in teenagers, for instance, empathy and compassion, but also other personal qualities such as leadership and responsibility. During the course, they may gain a deeper understanding of someone's needs and challenges. As such, they might foster emphatic nature within them towards other people. Furthermore, they can challenge themselves to troubleshoot problems and be a leader or work in a team. Overall, this can lead to inner growth for high schoolers. On the other hand, engaging in community services might be demanding, as it requires a lot of commitment with little recognition. For example, the activities can potentially conflict with schoolwork, extracurricular activities, or part-time jobs, which might cause stress or feelings of overwhelm. For that reason, it is important to check their schedules and learn to prioritise. Moreover, challenging situations such as poverty, illnesses or other hardships, can also exacerbate their emotion. Therefore, it is essential for them to have appropriate support systems or resources to process their emotions and deal with compassion fatigue or other mental health problems. To conclude, volunteering work can offer benefits for society and students. In addition to personal development, youngsters may get other personal skills such as a sense of leadership and responsibility. However, despite the benefits, it may add a burden to their already busy schedules. Consequently, they need to work on their schedules to minimise the impact on the school. Additionally, it is important to have mental health support for them if needed, as it can be emotionally difficult.