In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that fast food results in a rising number of people having health diseases, and the government should act to address this problem by imposing a tariff on that kind of food. From my perspective, I disagree with that opinion for two main reasons discussed below. The first reason for that is not only that fast food causes health problems. Diseases that people have to suffer from come from a combination of numerous factors. Researchers prove that obesity, a disease that many people think is led by fast food, is probably associated with molecular biological signs. For instance, the abnormal transformation of fat to energy is caused by a gene in the human genome, so the body will accumulate fat and cause obesity. On the other hand, people who are keen on eating fast food but have a good habit of exercising still have a healthy life. Secondly, a higher tax will affect the price of food, which may lead to some social evils. A prime example of that is that poor people in developing countries normally have difficulties reaching well-qualified foods like organic food or supplements. Therefore, the action of levying a tax on junk food will create a barrier for the poor to be able to afford food on a daily basis, which leads to malnutrition. Additionally, this problem may result in the rise of social problems like burglary or cheating, because of a lack of food or money to buy food. In conclusion, fast food seems to be one of the bad factors causing health problems, however, using a higher tax on them is not a reasonable solution. I personally believe that there are other useful ways to promote people's awareness towards eating junk food properly, as well as other feasible solutions to diminish the use of fast food rather than taxing.