Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer based subjects instead. Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this?

Since the importance of digital literacy in workplaces has increased, it is a pressing concern in the present world. In connection with this, more students prefer more data classes not to mention only a few of them go to academic institutions towards studying science. I personally believe that it is detrimental impacts on our society and examine the reasons for this phenomenon. Indubitably, there are several compelling reasons why I contend that it has demerits for our society. Foremost, since scientists invent and improve smart devices which are used for computers, more parts will be progressed to handle more requests. Specifically, even if the advancements of skills for data handling for network services as well as producing applications, require substantial storage space to preserve all of the data. To be more precise, their desktops could not deal with their inquiry properly, it does not need someone to discover novel techniques. Apart from that, the merits of positions related to the computer is attractive to modern people. Primarily, job seekers nowadays are likely to spend their working schedule indoors since there are heaters not to mention coolers such as air conditioners. To be more detailed, they will not feel the extremely hot weather of summer and cold climates in winter compared to laboratory technicians. Furthermore, these occupations offer higher salaries in order to manage complicated structures of data servers and are difficult for newbies. In a nutshell, although the preference of handling program professions is not worth for our community to elaborate on, there are understandable factors why these consequences occur.