These days, people are living into their 90s and beyond. As a result, there is an increasing concern about care for the elderly. Do you think it is the responsibility of the family to care for their elderly members of should the government be held responsible?

Nowadays, individuals are living in their 90's and more. Hence, there is a rising concern about the care of senior citizens. In my opinion, I believe that family members and the government ought to care for elderly members. One reason why family members should take care of their elderly members is that most families know how to deal with their aged parents. In other words, children can handle their parents with enough care and love than anyone else. For example, when their parents are sick, they can give medication on time and prepare the food they like. Another reason is that when we look after our old parents, the next generation will look after us the same way how we look after our aged parents. Thus, this will be a culture that many generations will practice. Moreover, this will create a good reputation since we respect the older generation. On the other hand, it is important for the government to take responsibility for elderly members of society, especially if they do not have a family. To put it simply, some elderly members are becoming lonely, so the government ought to take care of them. For instance, the government can send senior citizens who do not have a family to nursing homes in order to be taken care of. As a result, they will have a comfortable life. Another reason is that senior citizens were once taxpayers; therefore, they should be respected and given the right treatment. To sum up, I believe that elderly both family members and the government play a significant role in taking care of the elderly people in society. If they work together, they will build a strong society.