It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is vital for children to be able to distinguish between right and wrong, and due to the importance of this, they need to learn it in the early stages of their life. It is argued that punishment is necessary for them, in order to learn this distinction. I totally disagree with this suggestion. In my opinion, if we consider the disadvantages of punishment, it is not a good parenting method at all. It is essential for each human being to be able to tell the difference between right and wrong, and there are some nice ways to teach that to our children. Firstly, we can try to reinforce their good behaviour. For example, if we give a 4-year-old boy a gift whenever he shares his toys with a friend, he will learn that this is a good thing. Secondly, we can educate them by telling them thought-provoking stories about desirable and undesirable traits in other individuals. Finally, parents can play educational games, which are known as serious games, with their children, and this can play a major role in helping them to develop the desired personality. Overall, I believe there are several better ways to ensure that our children will be able to differentiate between good and bad. In terms of punishment, I imagine that it is not the safest way to bring up happy and healthy children. It is scientifically proven that punishing children could have a negative impact on their mental health condition. As a matter of fact, there is a positive association between experiencing punishment in childhood and struggling with mental disorders. In addition, punished children might develop some feelings like anger and hate towards their parents, and I suppose that this is a deal breaker. In conclusion, I restate that although punishment has immediate effects on the way children behave, the drawbacks of that outweigh the advantages. As a result, I suggest that there are more effective methods for training our children.