People are living much longer than before, and this creates enormous pressure on government services. What are some of the effects of a much larger, older population and what can governments do to deal with this problem?

In this modern era, with the integration of technological advancements in the field of medical sciences, the life span of humans has been prolonged. It is now possible to cure cancers and organ failures and even for senile age care, there are conservative medicines as well as surgeries like knee transplants and heart procedures which are helping people to stay independent and healthy till later years of their age. However, due to this increasing prevalence of the elderly population, now the government is facing a large crisis in the demand and supply and societal resources, and infrastructures. This essay will discuss the implications of having a growing elderly community and how to resolve the same. Firstly, As a result of increased healthy life, elderly and older groups are demanding a change in retirement working age in government services. Unemployment is already an issue among youths due to fewer numbers of government jobs and other opportunities. Recently a report from the Danish Society suggested an increased demand of 20% jobs in the ministry. There it is building a lot of pressure on the authorities and requires better strategies to come out with solutions. Additionally, there are not enough natural resources for their people in some countries so need to import them and that affects their economy further. Next, regarding solutions, even though there are not enough options but authorities can use the experience and skills of the elderly population by creating special positions. For example, the Indian government has recently introduced advisory positions in the law services and therefore found a way to extend the work of almost retirees age without affecting youth's positions. In conclusion, in the modern world, with an increased older population, many governments are under societal pressure and solutions and newer ways are required to maintain integrity and harmony in the country.