The spread of urban areas has led to deforestation and has caused many animal species to become endangered. Environmental groups are urging governments to protect these animals. What are the benefits of protecting animals? What can governments do to protect animals?

Over the years, the Earth has seen many changes and with the continuing urbanization facing a critical issue of deforestation. In many places, cutting off large numbers of trees has resulted in the loss of the natural habitat of some animals and birds, and subsequently led to their extinction. In order to protect such endangered animals, many environmentalists are demanding laws and actions from the authorities against deforestation and also to create awareness in society. This essay will discuss the advantages of saving these species and also what measures can be taken by the government to do so. Firstly, In a lifecycle, every animal species plays a significant role and this balance is required to maintain our surrounding nature healthy and to avoid climatic calamities. For example, lizards prey on insects so if for some reason these reptiles are extinct, the number of insects would rise enormously and in,turn will affect humans by spreading many insect-born diseases. Previously, a Daily news channel from Delhi reported a rise in the incidence of dengue (an insect vector disease) cases by 20% in 2006. Additionally, many countries are recognized by their animal species and their loss would surely make an impact. For instance, Australia is known for koalas and Kangaroos and many tourists and nature lovers visit the place because of them. Their extinction would affect tourism and the economy as a result of their loss. Nevertheless, multiple campaigns have been held recently under environmental activists. They are asking the government to form natural reserves and zoos and conserve already existing places to promote a safe home to such rare species. Moreover, a strict ban on forest cutting, hunting and promotion of tree plantation is desired. Furthermore, celebrity involvement in order to ask people to involve in survival campaigns and safe earth will help. In conclusion, with years of deforestation, many animals ' life has been endangered. With careful planning and action, a government can have modern development without the loss of precious endangered animals.