Young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree of disagree?

With the increasing youth crime rate worldwide, it fuels a debate about whether young criminals committing serious crimes should be punished in the same way as that of their adult counterparts. From my perspective, it is better to offer more alternatives for them to reintegrate into the community. Advocates for treating all law-breakers equally argue that punishments for them should rest upon consequences of law-breaking behaviours, instead of age or other contributors. Otherwise, some of them may exploit the loophole to escape from law violations. For instance, if the pre-teens and teens will not be punished for violating laws, such as robbery, theft, etc., they would become thoroughly unscrupulous to create chaos in neighbourhoods. Furthermore, some grown-up criminals may consider it unfair when they are sentenced more seriously with the same criminal charges, because their severe illegal activities pose the same threat to society. On the other hand, jail terms may harden young convicts against society as a result of the brutal treatment they could receive, which could transform some first offenders into repeat ones and professional criminals, thereby threatening the community in a more serious manner. Therefore, it should take other factors into consideration while punishing a young culprit. After all, many juveniles are induced by grown-ups or driven by adrenaline to break laws since they are unaware of the repercussions or do not know their delinquencies could produce severe outcomes. Thus, judges ought to differentiate them from adult offenders, rendering social justice with a multitude of measures that are justified but thoughtful. However, it does not mean that all delinquents committing serious crimes should be adopted with lenient punishments. For those who endanger society repeatedly, sentencing them to prison can not only make them realize the importance of abiding by laws but lower the risks of dangerous offences. In conclusion, although the court should give juvenile unrepentant offenders a fair trial, young felons committing crimes with forgivable excuses could be treated more flexibly compared with adults.