Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Today high sugar -level products are contained in many sources of food and drink, especially mass-produced goods. The more people can easily access those sugary products, the worse their health is going to be. I completely agree with the concept of increasing the price of products including sugar to adjust their habit of using less sugar and for themselves to replace the chemical sugar with the natural or non- sugar ones. One of the main reasons for making sugar to be expensive is to help people mitigate the amount of sugar consumed and then change their habit of not overusing sugar. That way, those foods and drinks that contain high sugar levels could be deterred by the price, so people will not buy them as commonly as before even though they cannot just buy them to eat for fun. This could lead to avoiding the accumulation of sugar in old age and this is perfect for their health in the future. Hence, they can steer clear of the possibility of having high blood sugar levels. Another significant advantage of increasing the number of sugary products is to encourage people to consume natural or non- sugar products. There are a lot of fruits that contain a certain amount of sugar that can add flavour to food such as bananas, dates, mango,etc. For example, when making smoothies, instead of putting sugar, we can use bananas and apples instead and they can provide sufficient sweetness and taste good. The more alternative ways to replace sugar, the fewer purchases we make. In conclusion, I would argue that it is necessary to up the prices of sugary products to pivot consumers to healthy habits and replace sugar with natural sweetness.