New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a concern about how children spend their leisure time after the appearance of new technologies. A large number of parents believe that the disadvantages could outweigh the benefits it brings, and I support this view. New technologies not only bring drawbacks for children but also a few benefits. Children could gather more knowledge through the Internet. There are many youtube videos, websites and channels containing helpful information for children that they can learn through the screen. Children can contact international friends in order to have the opportunity to learn other languages. Through playing games, some necessary skills can be adopted by children to gain an edge over other students with limited social skills. However, despite its merits, the belief that the disadvantages overshadow the advantages is still a major topic of concern. The major culprit for the disagreement of parents must be the addiction to new technologies. The designs of many playing apps and social media could easily attract more children and lead to a lack of attending outdoor activities. For instance, many news articles talk about the concern that many students forgot about their schools because of spending time playing games, and now they are on the verge of being kicked out. Moreover, I believe that there are some difficulties in preventing their child from bad aspects of the internet such as dark websites, due to the encouragement from their friends and their curiosity. Scientists also claim that using technologies for a long period of time is significantly bad for children ’s health. As a result, there are some serious drawbacks to the aforementioned trend. In conclusion, the wave of adolescents spending their leisure time on modern technologies undoubtedly brings more demerits than advantages for children.