Around the world, rural people are moving to cities and urban areas, so populations in the countryside are decreasing. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this modern society, the majority of people living in the countryside around the world decide to move to city -based or urban areas, leading to a reduction in the populations of rural areas. While this trend could be positive, I believe the negative side of the development outweighs its positivity. Moving to cities might have some merits for people from the countryside. The most compelling one is that the people from the countryside will have more chances to find jobs in the urban areas. There are more opportunities for rural people to find their ideal jobs because a large number of conglomerates only appear in the city. Moreover, the diversity of cultures can be increased as each region of the country has a different culture from another. Take Vietnam as an illustration. More province-based inhabitants moved to Ho Chi Minh City and created a multicultural community, such as different pronunciations, selling their regions’ local food and so more. Those culprits have proven that more people moving to urban areas could be a positive development. In my perspective, there are some facts that can combat the positive side of this trend. Firstly, the wave of moving to the city causes a large number of residents to use transportation. More private vehicles means more fumes released into the atmosphere, leading to the degradation of the air quality. The number of people using public transportation also increases, and it can be extremely crowded during rush hours. Secondly, more people from the countryside finding jobs in the city means fewer job opportunities for city dwellers. Take a look at the USA. Cities residents disagree with the wave of rural people moving to their regions, so they put more pressure on rural people who are living in the city now to prevent people from the countryside from moving to the urban area. These aforementioned reasons could overshadow the positive development of this trend and prove its negative side. In a nutshell, more people from the countryside moving to the urban areas is undoubtedly a negative development despite some of its advantages.