When choosing a job, while some people think that the salary is the most important thing to be taken into consideration, others have a diverse view. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Employee preferences in choosing a workplace vary. Some people highlight the importance of salary but others more focus on non-material opportunities given by a company. This essay will explore both sides of employee preferences. Salary is often seen as a proxy for how companies value their employee. A higher salary offered by a company means that the employee has excellent skills and fulfilled the requirements. As a result, the employees feel they are valuable and respected by their company. Additionally, the higher salary could compensate for the stress and pressure caused by working. The data shows that 20% of employees choose to stay in their company because of the high salary offered. One of the reasons is that the more money they receive the happier they are. Even if they have to survive in unfair competition. However, some people think that a healthy working environment is more important than a high salary. Moreover, the availability of opportunity for self-development is another crucial feature for employees in choosing their workplace. That opportunity makes employees more excited about their jobs and also enhances their knowledge. For instance, from the latest survey, 40% of employees - especially the millennial generation - choose to resign from their former company because of the toxic environment even though the salary is higher. In conclusion, salary shows the value of an employee's skills and compensates for the stress and pressure of working. Conversely, a better working environment and the possibility of a continuous learning process are preferable among the younger generation.