🔶Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugar products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. 🔸Do you agree or disagree?

As a number of processed eatable products such as coke or cakes include a huge amount of sugar, which posters health problems, it is argued that sugary food and drink should be sold at more high prices to reduce individuals’ sugar intake. Although I am fully aware of the dangers of taking sugar excessively, I firmly believe that prices cannot affect sugar consumption, and there is a better way than that. To begin with, prices and sugar intake are irrelevant. Meanwhile, only a few people are likely to reduce their purchases of products which contain a large amount of sugar, most of them are willing to pay higher prices if manufacturers increased the costs of these foods and beverages like ice cream and Sprites. For example, in South Korea, even though the government enforced price increase of cigarettes, nearly doubled, smokers did not halt smoking. This proves there is no relevance between sugar consumption and its price. On top of that, there are better ways to discourage people from ingesting a large amount of sugar. One of them is to indicate how much sugar consumers take from manufactured food and beverages, which reminds them of the risk of sugar intake. Furthermore, if companies put side effects of obsessive sugar intake on the products, it could be beneficial to those who try not to purchase sweetened groceries. For instance, some candy companies let their customers know the sugar content of their candies and give a warning about overdosing on them, which encourages individuals to spend money wisely. In conclusion, it is obvious that excessive sugar ingestion brings about illnesses. Nevertheless, informing the amount of sugar and side effects from it is more persuasive than raising the prices of processed food and drinks.