The most important aim of science ought to be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that scientific developments are occurring at a great rate, so according to some, the improvement in people’s lives should be prioritised by scientists. In my opinion, I agree that making people’s life better ought to be the ultimatum of scientific works. A good reason to prioritise the amelioration of people’s life by scientists is that the public good depends on scientific discoveries done by scientists. This means that in order to overcome numerous situations such as the prevalence of contagious infectious diseases, which were insoluble, scientists play an important role. In the past, the majority of society, for example, was infected by serious illnesses including measles and polio, but nowadays their prevalence rate has been plummeting because of the invention of vaccines. Another factor to consider is that the most indispensable goal of scientific discoveries should be changing the world in a better way for society and making people’s life more convenient. In other words, scientists are the only ones who have the potential to make discoveries, which smooth people’s life. If a higher quality of life is the top priority for them, the population not only could progress in a variety of aspects of their lives including communication, business and education but also their life would be more convenient. Nowadays, for instance, the population can merchandise with other nations due to the invention of the internet. In conclusion, prioritising the improvement in people's life ought to be a must for scientists in order to tackle issues, which were so insurmountable in the past and make more progress for a better quality of life.