In some countries today, many people decide to have their first child when they are older. What are the reasons? Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern world, many couples have delayed parenthood unlike in the past. There are some reasons behind this trend, and I strongly believe that there are more drawbacks than benefits to this development. On the one hand, there are a few reasons that can be given to explain the trend of giving birth at later stages of life. Firstly, the labour market is becoming competitive and it is quite normal that parents decide not to have a child during the early years of their marriage. In other words, as women start to pursue higher studies and enter the workforce, they tend to delay their marriage and have children later in their life; they cannot balance family and work due to the responsibilities of childbirth and parenting. Secondly, some pairs do not want to sacrifice their social life by having children when they were young. To be specific, having children during the initial years of their marriage will remove them of the opportunity to enjoy life as they want. For example, the majority of young couples prefer travelling and enjoying their life to sitting at home and raising their children. On the other hand, I feel that there are several negative effects to this trend. Firstly, delaying pregnancy can lead to some health complications. Fertility starts to decline after the age of thirty, and babies born after this age can have a higher risk of health conditions such as Down`s syndrome and other genetic birth defects. In addition, having a child later can cause a significant age gap between the two generations and this will make it harder for parents to communicate with their children. Besides, it will be financially demanding for parents to send their young children to colleges or universities when they are close to retirement, and this could mean delayed or difficult retirement for parents. In conclusion, people prefer having children later in life because they want to improve their careers and enjoy their life; however, I strongly believe that the disadvantages of this development far outweigh the advantages.