In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extend do the advantages of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

Many nations’ elderly populations are growing, and more and more people may live longer because of medical development. There are many pros and cons to this phenomenon, however, in the following paragraphs, I am going to discuss why growing numbers of elders have more benefits than drawbacks. First and foremost, when individuals age over 65, most of them will retire. Because the number of retired people is increasing, they may receive less financial or medical support from governments. As a result, many elders may decide to work longer in order to solve their future medical funds problems. In addition, governments can decrease the pressures of the ageing population. To explain, growing numbers of ageing people cause the labour markets to lack workers. Once these experienced elderly workers return to workforces, regimes or companies can minimize the pressure of labour force issues. Secondly, in societies, the young generation and the old generation may have a lot of conflicts. Youngsters may not have common interests with elderly workers in workspaces. However, increasing senior members in the workplace may also decline the conflicts with young adults. Freshers can find that these elderly staffs have many skills in the workplace. Young adults may learn from them, thus, some biases towards the minority group will decrease. In conclusion, the advantages of an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages. The senior generation is coming, and governments can higher the working age limit for seniors to continue to work. Besides, these elders can minimize the risks of money in medical and living.