the most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that the most fundamental role of science is enhancing humans life quality. I agree with this opinion to some extent, however, I have reasons for disagreement as well that I will discuss in the subsequent paragraphs. Rooting back in history, science has been always the key factor behind the developments of our kind and it has been a tool in governments’ hands to provide better facilities for their societies for a long time. In fact, our history was built upon science due to the pieces of evidence that prove every little detail of our daily routine was once discovered and improved by a scientist and nowadays science is expected to keep developing people’s life quality. It is not a wrong idea because the aim of better life circumstances is an event that always happened using science and it can help societies to improve even more in different aspects including social, economic, health, trading and so many more to build a better community. On the other hand, in the recent century there have been some issues due to the developments that took place using science. One of the most highlighted challenges is environmental problems and misfunctions, in fact, scientists aiming to improve life quality invented facilities, machines, gadgets or even methods that seemed to be beneficial at first but they just considered the benefits of their own kind. For example, the improvement of science in Europe led to the industrial revolution which was considered a victory in the first place but the inventions and increased use of natural resources through research and innovations started to form pollution, health and social problems and even caused harm to the earth by depleting the Ozone layer so, I think there should be a balance between using science for human kind’s benefits and the benefits of other kinds and the environment as a whole. to sum up, I think while science should be used as a tool to improve our life situation, there also should be a balance between using science for our own sake and using science to protect other kinds as well even if it would not be advantageous for our community.