Some universities offer online courses as an alternaive to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Technology has changed the way learning establishments are teaching nowadays. A few universities have started online courses in parallel to in-person classrooms. Students have a choice to attend class online, go through the recorded lecture on their own time, or be physically present in the class. This is a positive development. In this essay, we will discuss the reasons for that. First and foremost, the most significant advantage is that students can learn from any professor teaching in any part of the world just by enrolling in his online course. Learning does not have any physical boundaries. For example, many universities and colleges in Canada have an option for online courses for mostly all subjects, and any student can learn from their own house without travelling to the learning centre. Learning from the expert or preferred professor has never been simplified. Secondly, online courses have mostly recorded sessions. Enrolled pupils can go through them at their own convenience, at their own speed. For instance, a student living in India can watch and learn from the lecture the next day in the morning and does not have to wake up at night to be present in the class because of the time difference. Also, students living in Canada can work in the daytime and learn from the online course at night when they have time. In conclusion, we have discussed some positives of having online courses as an alternative to classes being executed on campus. Daytime differences and country boundaries do not hinder the learning experience from the subject matter experts around the world. Also, students can work in day time and study from the lecture on their own time. Hence, the advent of technology in classrooms has made a positive development on the whole learning journey.