Nowadays many children have access to the internet and a large number of children enjoy playing online games. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In this globalization era, the accessibility of the internet makes children addicted to online games. Although there is a positive side of this phenomenon, I believe that the negative sides are greater than the advantages. It is undeniable that playing games is essential for children to stimulate the brain. It is commonly believed that children are still in the phase of brain development. That is the reason why it is always good to give some treatment that can improve their ability of thinking. For example, children who are exposed to online games usually have good English skills because most online applications use English. Also, having puzzle games in leisure time could help children to think fast to solve some cases. On the other hand, there are several drawbacks that still make some parents anxious about online games. Spending too much time in front of a laptop might damage eyes especially for children. Additionally, adolescents would find it hard to manage their time between study and play because they are addicted to online games. To illustrate, nowadays it is obvious that many pupils prefer to play online games in the middle of the class. This might be dangerous for their attitude in the future. To sum up, in my perspective playing online games is still acceptable to some extent as long as their parents always take control of it. However, it is inevitable that online games could be something that becomes harmful for the younger generation such as an addiction habit.