Over the past 50 years, young people have gained status and power but old people have lost. What is the cause and is it a good development?

It is said that the juvenile have gained status and power although the elderly have lost over the past five decades. In my perspective, the shift has been caused by the development of the Internet and the rapid change in society. And I consider the situation to be a good development while it has some disadvantages. First, the Internet has developed at high speed over last decades, making it difficult for the senior citizens to follow. For example, many things such as book or news are digitised and increasing number of the people get information on the Internet. Because the Internet has been introduced in workplace, leisure and other aspects in daily life, the elderly who cannot use online tools well cannot deal with issues effectively. Additionally, rapidly changing society has degraded the power of the elderly. The senior citizens tend to be familiar with methods or custom which were maintained for long period, but in modern life, the style of living or habits changes frequently. Because of this, the elderly cannot adapt to the modern life well. Admittedly, this development has drawbacks, for example, idea of the elderly cannot be treated as seriously. On the other hand, in the society in which young people have initiatives, more priority is put on education for children and it encourage economic growth of the country. Also, the assist to parenting can be provided by governments. The policy for next generation will enrichen the society. In conclusion, the increasing younger’s power and drop of the elderly’s authority is caused by the increasing use of the Internet and changing society. And the shift is considered to have benefits from the view of next generation’s happiness.