Many countries plan to ban the sale of petrol and diesel cars in the future, with governments planning to support the use of electric vehicles. Do the advantages of electric vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

When talking about the climate, most people would agree that electric cars are more environmentally friendly than petrol and diesel kinds. However, despite being good for the environment, there are other things to be considered. This essay will describe if the benefits of electric cars outweigh the disadvantages, and why I think it is a good investment for the future. On the one hand, there are some considerations before deciding on banning all fuel cars. Firstly, the cost of electric cars cannot be overlooked. For instance, compared with fuel cars, where the new ones would be from $10,000, the fuel-less ones cost at least $50,000. As such, it can be said that not everyone can have the luxury to spend that much money. Therefore, unless the price is subsidised by the government, it would be hard for the individuals to afford them. Secondly, this type of vehicle needs charging stations, which can be difficult to find in some areas. For instance, regional areas, where infrastructure is most likely behind the cities, will not be as convenient for electric vehicle (EV) owners. Consequently, the government needs to ensure the availability and accessibility of the stations all around, which can be expensive to fund by the taxpayers. Therefore, both government and the society need to invest money for this change to happen. On the other hand, as previously mentioned, it can be costly to purchase EVs. Nonetheless, it actually has lower operating costs. For example, the more we use combustion cars, the more wear and tear on the brakes and engines we will get, which will increase the maintenance fees. In contrast, EVs do not require any oil which reduces the cost in the long run. In addition to this, the price of electricity is way lower than the cost of petrol. Hence, they are cheaper to run than their counterparts. Secondly, EVs have such positive impact on the environment. To illustrate, EVs produces zero greenhouse, therefore, helping to reduce air pollution and gas emissions, which can contribute to climate change and air quality problem and could affect many people of all ages. To conclude, there are factors to think about before banning all petrol vehicles, such as the cost of EVs and their infrastructure nationwide. Nevertheless, it is actually cheaper to own in the long run and it can help reduce climate change and air pollution, which affects people worldwide.