Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

We can not deny that learning second and third languages has become common in today's society as speaking only one language is not enough for living in this highly competitive world. It is argued that the purpose of learning a foreign is only specifically for working and travelling,or there are other meaningful grounds ititbehind. This essay will discuss both views with some examples and my own perspective on this argument. The main reason that studying a foreign language is provided is that working and travelling with the ability to communicate with a universal language, such as English, will provide better communication and opportunities. I agree with this statement that speaking a foreign language will be useful when it comes to building connections for careers or asking for help in emergency situations in international circumstances. However, I believe that it is not the individual cause to learn a non-native language. Apart from working and travelling, I strongly believe that another reason why we should learn a foreign language is that it will create a better understanding and empathy for other people. Being able to communicate with foreigners will bring a better perception of how different cultural contexts affect peoples' mindsets and behaviours, which will lead to how the world and opinions are viewed differently without biases. To illustrate, society will become better if people become more open to different opinions and behaviours which is a result of learning different languages and cultures. In conclusion, employment and leisure is not the only reason that people should learn languages but it is more important that people also understand the world and be more empathetic. Thus, studying non-native languages should be promoted and supported as people will become more open-minded to live with different opinions, which will create a better society for everyone.