Some people argue that it is the responsibility of the police to educate children about good behaviour in society. Whereas others believe that parents should be responsible for teaching their children how to behave in an acceptable way. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The responsibility of teaching children moral values has been a topic of debate in recent years. Although it is sometimes thought that the police force has an essential role to instil how to be good members of society in children, other people believe that these good manners should be taught to children by their parents. In my opinion, I consider that parents ought to be the leading part of educating this essential lesson to their children. On the one hand, it is sometimes argued that the police play an indispensable role to teach the moral behaviour of being a responsible society member to children. At present, it is commonly believed among children that police officers are the most responsible people, which makes them heroes in their eyes. This, consequently, results in obeying the law enforcement officers more than anyone else and the instruction given thus have better chances to be obeyed by children. For instance, for a majority of students, being a police officer is their dream job and they follow the police officers' footsteps blindly to become like them. On the other hand, a group of people vehemently argue that the role of parents to nurture moral values in children and make conscientious society members should not be neglected. This means that since children spend most of their time with their parents at home, parents have sufficient scope to inculcate in them productive personalities such as sincerity, resilience and dedication, which are so crucial to behave decently in society. If, for example, parents set valuable examples in their personal life including participating in philanthropic works, their children would be more inclined to join these activities in the future. In conclusion, while people vary in their opinions, I think that parents stand a better chance to educate the valuable qualities of being a decent society member to their children because children spend a great amount of time with them in their homes.