People living in the 21st century have a better life quality than people who lived in previous centuries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether people are living a better life than in previous centuries has sparked heated debate. Some claim that advanced technologies have helped daily chores, whiles others argue that work pressure is generally greater than ever. In my viewpoint, undoubtfully, due to many reasons, individuals now are baring significant burden. In this essay, I will elucidate in more detail and offer my personal opinions. Irrefutably, science and technology have brought convenience to modern life. For instance, washing machines and vacuum cleaners are the best helpers that assist with housework. Furthermore, the Internet along with smartphones connects the world at a fingertip, which allows its users to contact each other in just a few seconds. Although, these all seem beneficial to humanity, there are some drawbacks in current days. First of all, things are becoming more expensive. In the pastime, a single father can provide for his own family, however, it takes double incomes today. In other words, children cannot receive enough attention since parents are too busy to take care of them. Secondly, working hours and pressures deprive the sense of happiness that we can hear from those good old days. Because of financial stress, working longer become a norm, particularly in Asia. In conclusion, though, there are many progresses from a material perspective, citizens are suffering from overwork and economic stress that not only worsen physical sound but also phycological aspects. Moreover, being preoccupied with jobs, young children could also suffer from self-isolation since their parents are not around. As a result, from my point of view, people nowadays are not having better life compared with the generations above.