Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

There is no doubt that protecting the environment is one of the urgent phenomena nowadays, and using green transportation plays a vital role in solving this issue. Among various means of transport, cycling is considered as the most environmentally friendly. In spite of its benefits, cycling is not as common as it should be in many regions due to some reasons, and there ought to be some solutions to boost its popularity. There are primary reasons that lead to the fact that riding a bicycle does not gain popularity. Obviously, cycling is not as convenient as commuting by other transportation as car or motorbike, especially to long- distance places. Most people today are too busy with their hasty pace of life, so they desire to save as much time as possible to move from their house to their workplace and vice versa. Furthermore, cycling requires much more energy than other forms of transport, hence it is not suitable for everyone. This makes them decide to choose some other fast-moving vehicles instead. On a broader scale, traffic conditions nowadays are getting worse and worse and other vehicles such as container trucks, cars and motorbikes are likely to trigger a number of threats to cyclists. Traffic accidents and casualties have significantly increased annually, and people who use non-motorized vehicles as bicycles may be at high risk. In order to holistically address the aforementioned reasons, drastic measures are needed. In the foreseeable future, companies or factories should allow their employees to have flexible time working so that they can avoid going to work and returning home at peak times. This makes workers feel more motivated to choose a more eco-friendly means of transport without fearing of getting late to work. Health benefits of cycling should be propagandized widely as well, so more people may consider cycling as a good way to stay healthy. In the long term, dignitaries may enforce higher tolls for cars or motorbikes to reduce traffic on the roads, and separated lanes for cyclists should be widened. This would help increase the security of cyclists and reduce their commute time. In conclusion, there are tons of reasons behind the unpopularity of cycling, and some solutions must be taken to raise the number of cyclists as much as possible.