Some people argue that the government should take more responsibility for regulating the internet to protect users from harmful content, while others believe that individuals should take more responsibility for their own online safety. What is your opinion?

Whether regulating websites contents in order to provide safety for everyone, is a common matter of debate. In my opinion, there should be a more strict control on materials divulgated through this extremely powerful medium. On the other hand, users should be instructed on how to notice potential dangers and possibly avoid them. There is no denying that Internet has improved our lives, accelerating purchases, researches and making information more accessible. However, this tool might also be used by dishonest individuals, fraudsters, and criminals to share dark contents. For instance, the selling of dangerous and forbidden substances may be possible, specifically through international deliveries. Other examples are frauds related to online shopping, when customers never receive the product they have paid for. The same might also happen with home renting for holidays, where travellers arrive at destination without finding the apartment they have reserved. In addition, Internet might be risky for minors and toddlers, in particular if they happen to navigate in chatrooms with people with obscure intentions. In addition, certain websites could be used with the purpose of spreading misinformation, deviating mass opinions or leading public riots. For all the aforementioned reasons, I firmly believe that government should implement network safety. On the other hand, it is also true that citizens have the right and duty to acknowledge the possible perils of this technological world. For example, they should resist the temptation of buying items that have suspiciously low prices. They should also shop only from reliable sites, verifying feedbacks from other users. Moreover, they could seek the assistance of relatives, friends or more expert people if they feel somehow virtually endangered. Finally, kids should always be supervised by a tutor while using Internet, and parents may apply restrictions to their accounts. Thus, with some suggestions, people could safely profit from the network. To conclude, Internet has become part of our everyday life, and has brought countless advantages. Nonetheless, there are also several drawbacks that we could face. For this reason, regulations should be enhanced, and users should keep abreast of the downsides.