Some people think technological development can reduce crime, while others think it actually encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, technological development has become advanced and people consider that would be a positive trend toward a decline in crime. Although some people are against technology, some believe that it would be a good development in the future. As for the first point, a great deal of solutions have been implemented including tracing the rehabilitated persons and installing more cameras on streets and public areas to minimize crimes, if not eradicate them. For example, using advanced technical equipment is more efficient for police to find missing phones, monitor rapists and discover sufficient evidence from business-related crimes such as embezzlement. Moreover, placing cameras in essential sections are visionary and safer for protecting people from some crimes such as burglary, abduction, smuggling and human trafficking. On the other hand, some argue that some offenders learn from their mistakes and improve their tech skills in jail. For instance, my cousin was captured and imprisoned which could’ve provided him with more opportunities to be educated by other people ’s criminal experiences and obtained knowledge about how to utilize more advanced tools and gadgets, even though he was just in a juvenile detention center. Therefore, he still participates in the same criminal activities but use better methods for earning vast income and maintaining his standard of living. If prisoners do not realize and understand what the correct behaviors are, then the crime rate would increase rapidly after they are released. In conclusion, based on the information mentioned, we can say that the government has been doing its best to curb the crime rate with the use of technology. However, some criminals use technology to educate other criminals in the prison itself which is quite alarming. From my perspective, the government has to train more experts in these fields not only to deter people from committing crime but also prevent criminal skills from escalating within the boundaries of the prison cell. In doing so, a lower crime rate can be fostered and protect all citizens.