The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Scientific developments are occurring at a great rate but some of them do not seem to be helpful to people. In fact, sometimes scientific innovations are regretted by those who invented them. This essay will argue that science should never harm the community but scientists should aim to further their understanding as much as to improve people’s lives. On one hand, there is a strong argument that the public good should be the top priority for scientists. They are the ones who have the potential to make discoveries and invent things that can change the world. Electricity, modern medicine, telecommunications and the internet are just some of the scientific innovations that have changed people's lives. On the other hand, sometimes scientists do research just in the hope of adding to their knowledge. While they should make absolutely sure that their experiments do no harm, they may not know until they have finished how their findings will be used and whether they will improve people’s lives. The scientist Nobel invented dynamite to help with mining not knowing that it would one day be used in weapons, and the scientist who discovered the life-saving drug penicillin did so quite by chance. Overall, it seems that science should improve the lives of people and that ought to be one of its aims. However, knowledge and discovery are aims in themselves and are just as important for scientists. Sometimes, scientists do not know how their scientific breakthroughs will be used until their work is done.