Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, individuals are more influenced to buy products through various kinds of advertising instead of considering their real needs. So, I strongly agree with this statement and will discuss it in the forthcoming paragraphs. Firstly, advertising leads people to buy various goods through the information available and the way in which the products are demonstrated, which captivates consumers into buying unnecessary things. For example, Smart T.V. sales have seen the highest growth due to the new features, which require only stable internet access to surf the television. However, instead of this, on mobile phones same function can be easily accessible with low maintenance, while people want to show their wealthy lifestyle, which results in the purchase of unwanted items. Secondly, marketing by the famous celebrities and even social media influencers contributes majorly in vending of caution products. The fan followers blindly follow their favorite idol and purchase the items no matter whether it is appropriate according to their age category or not. For example, In India, the renowned Bollywood actors Shahrukh Khan, Ajay Devgan and Akshay Kumar are the brand ambassadors for “Gutkha” known as “Vimal Elaichi” which contains harmful ingredients and are not suitable for youth still many are addicted to it and suffer from life-threatening illness called Cancer. In conclusion, advertising plays a crucial role in people’s lives as they get carried away by it, which results in the sale of products which/that are unwanted. In addition, digital and social media advertising of the consumer’s items just get pops up in the notification bar, lead leading to buying extra things, and individuals will stop considering their needs as first priority.