In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

Nowadays, technology has made a major change in every field, including finance and payments. It has been a much-discussed subject that paying in cash is going to be replaced by shopping with credit cards or online. However, it appears to me that this statement is not straightforward and some disagreements might be made against the idea, which will be mentioned here. Perhaps, the effect of technology on people’s lives shouldn’t be underrated, meaning that the more people get familiar with the use of smart gadgets, the more tempting it is for them to benefit from the privilege of them. For example, smartphones have made hard tasks like shopping easier by saving time and energy in purchasing commodities. Another reason for using credit cards instead of cash in the future might be the matter of robbery. It means that people wouldn’t carry money in cash provided that they are aware of the possibility of stealing. for instance, due the pickpocketing in crowded areas, it is logical that everyone would prefer to carry only one card which is completely reversible in case of getting lost. Admittedly, there might be a few dissatisfactions about the likelihood of credit cards frauds, which may seem to be a wise approach to have the sum of money in cash in case of being safe. In addition, as technology goes further, the number of online stealing and credit card thieves has grown to an excessive amount, which has declined the trustworthiness of paying and shopping online or by card. To conclude, it appears to be advisable to use credit cards or purchase online, to make our lives convenient. However, some might cite the negative aspects of not using cash, due to the crime that might occur, but in my opinion, should people trust a change in payment system to have a better life, they had better consider the benefits of shopping online or by card as well.