Earlier technology development brought more changes to life of ordinary people than the recent technology development do. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Development in technology has always played a significant role in bringing change in the life of people. It is said that the earlier technological advancements have been more beneficial than the recent ones to ordinary people. I agree with the statement and will share my views supporting the opinion. On one hand, the advancements in the past have proven to be revolutionary in the way people conduct their daily lives. For instance, the invention of electricity in the 16th century has been the foundation of the discoveries we do today. It is now impossible to imagine our life without this invention. Similarly, the advent of the industrial revolution has changed our way of living, which we could not foresee in the past centuries. On the other hand, over time we have become quite dependent on these technologies and have started exploiting nature for extracting these resources. This puts huge pressure on the climate, which threatens our future on this planet. Due to this, the focus of scientific society has recently shifted to achieving sustainable sources of living, which can help in reducing the carbon footprint previous technologies have created. Take, for example, the switch from plastic to paper straws, or looking for alternatives to drinking water. These small changes are new and require time for people to adapt. To sum up, in the,past there have been life-changing discoveries, which have transformed the world by storm. But the advancements come at a cost to climate. Because of this, the focus has now moved to finding more balanced options, without harming nature. I believe we will soon witness a new era which will be a mix of technology and nature.