testing on animals is common practice for products such as cosmetics or drugs. some people regard testing on animals as completely wrong and inhumane and they believe it should not be allowed. do you agree or disagree with this statement

It is a debatable argument whether animal testing should be illegalized or not. While some people think that it is a brutal action, others believe that it is vital to first test medical and cosmetic processes on animals such as rats and mice for safety reasons. Although this action can be seen as violent, in my opinion, animal testing can help us enhance our medical knowledge. Some individuals argue that animal testing can be harsh and devastating due to two main reasons. Firstly, it is believed that not only do laboratory animals have the right to live as freely as possible like other creatures, but they also should not be tested for human purposes, also it is said that they are kept behind bars in such unhygienic and cramped conditions, which is not an ethical manner. Secondly, rats and mice mostly used in medical research have so many common diseases with humans, which are highly contagious, so keeping them and doing experiments on them can be considered a threat to humans and may contribute to another pandemic and outbreak. On the other hand, animal testing can benefit humans in two main ways. One is that we can elevate our knowledge about human physiology and diseases through animal testing. For example, all of our information about Neurodegenerative disorders like Parkinson’s disorder and its preventive measures comes from studying animals, especially rats. Additionally, studying animals will result in discovering new drugs and vaccines which can give humans a better chance of survival. For example, in a recent outbreak, of COVID-19, researchers and scientists were able to invent vaccines just by testing various processes on animals, so they would not be able to rescue human beings’ lives without using animals in their trials. In conclusion, although animals can suffer from these procedures, I believe that the advantages of researching animals outweigh its drawbacks and they are all being done for greater purposes like saving human lives.