In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is dereasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Rural people are moving to cities in many countries around the world, so the countryside’s population is decreasing. I believe that this statement can be perceived as a negative development because it can disturb the national economic activity and make the rest of the rural people inconvenient. Moving from countryside to cities can probably disturb the national economic activity. As we know, the majority of rural people work as farmers. If the total number of farmers drops significantly, the farming output can probably be fallen. This situation may reduce the crop supply in the market, so its price can be increased. As a result, the national inflation rate may grow drastically. The high inflation rate can cause economic problems, such as triggering unemployment, increasing the poverty, etc. In addition, due to the rural people ’s movement to cities, this situation can potentially make the rest of rural people unconvenient. This is because the reducing number of people in countryside may trigger the closing of many public and private facilities. For example, Indomaret and Alfamart, the popular minimarket in Indonesia, have to close their shop in the countryside because the number of visitors is very low, so it can not cover the operation cost. As a result, the rural people may face a problem when they want to buy their daily needs. In conclusion, I think the movement of the rural people to cities can be perceived as a negative thing because disturbing the national economic activity and making the rest of the rural people uncovenient convenient.