Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by a number of people that students in colleges should have the freedom to choose the subject of their choice, however, others argue that courses related to engineering and technology would be more beneficial in future. Although science-related subjects could help in securing well-paid jobs, I think it is imperative for students to opt for a subject they like because they are going to perform well if they are satisfied with their choice. Everyone in society wants their children to have the best education so that they can have high-income jobs. Nowadays, there is an increase in the demand for professionals in the field of mathematics, science and management, which is why, a majority of students are willing to study these engineering subjects. For instance, Indian parents spend almost one-third of their savings on their children's tuition fees to get them into the prestigious technological universities which in turn would help students graduate and find placement in top-notch firms like Apple, Google and Amazon. Apart from getting paid, I believe that a person must enjoy what he/she is doing for an enterprise. There are a variety of courses offered by numerous universities apart from subjects related to science. It is possible that students will receive lower income when they start working for a company, but they will remain satisfied and are most likely to enjoy their jobs. After accumulating enough experience, the chances of personal and financial growth are infinite. For example, research conducted by the University of Guelph states that in the last 2 years, a significant number of art graduates in various firms have been rewarded with exceptional salaries for their outstanding participation, in comparison to IT professionals, who feel unhappy and stressed even after earning a decent income. To conclude, there is no doubt that science and technology-related courses will definitely help students to earn sufficient money, but, in order to live a stress-free and happy life, the students must choose the field of study they want to pursue.