Students in university should be specialized in one subject rather than to develop a wider range of knowledge in many different subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People's opinions vary when it comes to the number of subjects students in the university should study. I disagree with the view that they should choose to study only one specific field. From my perspective, having a wide range of interdisciplinary knowledge is more crucial, which helps to lead to a more satisfactory academic and career life. First of all, people are living in a world where various subjects connect with each other, which makes it hard to separate one discipline from another. One of the typical examples of this is that economic students are expected to have an excellent mastery of math beforehand, otherwise it would be impossible for them to tackle complex data analysis. In other words, a thorough understanding of other courses in relation to their major will make students more capable of solving professional problems. Besides, it is not uncommon for bachelors to feel confused about what field they are most interested in. By contrast, those who have undergone a year of interdisciplinary study are less likely to experience similar troubles. As a result, they can develop a much clearer scheme for their profession and even career path. Moreover, after acquiring a university degree, most people will head into the job market. For those majoring in disciplines other than economics or marketing, teaching them solely about their own professions will lead to less career opportunities. For instance, it seems that the career choice for someone with a music degree will have to be becoming a music teacher, if the person knows nothing about the business mode, leadership skills and managing techniques of another industry. Therefore, in order to prepare students for a larger variety of jobs, cross-disciplinary education would be necessary. In conclusion, it is vital for university students to have a knowledge cruise over various subjects, for this will be beneficial for their future study and career.